A “lemon car” describes a Arkansas vehicle that you purchased that has a manufacturing defect that cannot be repaired, and which has resulted in reducing the usability, safety, or value of the car.
Under the Arkansas lemon law, it is the car manufacturer’s responsibility to make things right if your vehicle qualifies as a lemon.
This page will provide you with a simple overview of the lemon law requirements, criteria, and process in Arkansas.
For more information regarding your own vehicle, be sure to contact legal counsel or your state’s consumer’s affairs office.
What is the Arkansas Lemon Law?
The Arkansas lemon law sets requirements for car manufacturers to refund or replace vehicles that have safety or quality defects that cannot be repaired.
If your vehicle qualifies, you can typically choose to either:
- Have the vehicle replaced with a new one.
- Be refunded for the purchase of the lemon.
Does lemon law apply to used cars in Arkansas?
Arkansas’s lemon law does not apply to used vehicles.
Lemon Law Criteria in Arkansas
In order to qualify for Arkansas’s lemon law, the vehicle must meet the following criteria:
- 3 failed repairs, 5 total repair attempts, or 1 failed repair for an issue likely to cause serious injury or death.
- Issue is within 24 months or 24,000 miles, whichever lasts longer.
What to Do if Your Car is a Lemon in Arkansas
If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon car in Arkansas, the process will go something like this:
- Make the necessary attempts to have the issue repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty.
- Keep records and documentation of all service, communication, and estimates from the dealer, manufacturer, or other authorized agent.
- If you believe the vehicle meets the criteria of a lemon, notify the manufacturer to begin the lemon-law remedy process.
You’ll need to contact the manufacturer by certified mail.
The manufacturer will then have 10 days to notify you to take the vehicle to a repair shop for a final attempt.
For official information or legal advice pertaining to your specific circumstances, please contact your attorney or the Arkansas consumer protection agency.