A “lemon car” describes a Connecticut vehicle that you purchased that has a manufacturing defect that cannot be repaired, and which has resulted in reducing the usability, safety, or value of the car.
Under the Connecticut lemon law, it is the car manufacturer’s responsibility to make things right if your vehicle qualifies as a lemon.
This page will provide you with a simple overview of the lemon law requirements, criteria, and process in Connecticut.
For more information regarding your own vehicle, be sure to contact legal counsel or your state’s consumer’s affairs office.
What is the Connecticut Lemon Law?
The Connecticut lemon law sets requirements for car manufacturers to refund or replace vehicles that have safety or quality defects that cannot be repaired.
If your vehicle qualifies, you can typically choose to either:
- Have the vehicle replaced with a new one.
- Be refunded for the purchase of the lemon.
Does lemon law apply to used cars in Connecticut?
The CT lemon law does apply to used vehicles purchased from a dealer for $3,000 miles or more.
The maximum coverage term is 60 days or 3,000 miles.
Lemon Law Criteria in Connecticut
In order to qualify for Connecticut’s lemon law, the vehicle must meet the following criteria:
- 4 failed repairs, 2 failed repairs for a defect likely to cause serious injury or death, or out-of-service for 30 days.
- Within 2 years or 24,000 miles.
What to Do if Your Car is a Lemon in Connecticut
If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon car in Connecticut, the process will go something like this:
- Make the necessary attempts to have the issue repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty.
- Keep records and documentation of all service, communication, and estimates from the dealer, manufacturer, or other authorized agent.
- If you believe the vehicle meets the criteria of a lemon, notify the manufacturer to begin the lemon-law remedy process.
Refer to your owner’s manual to see if you need to contact the manufacturer, dealership, or manufacturer’s agent.
For official information or legal advice pertaining to your specific circumstances, please contact your attorney or the Connecticut consumer protection agency.