A “lemon car” describes a Florida vehicle that you purchased that has a manufacturing defect that cannot be repaired, and which has resulted in reducing the usability, safety, or value of the car.
Under the Florida lemon law, it is the car manufacturer’s responsibility to make things right if your vehicle qualifies as a lemon.
This page will provide you with a simple overview of the lemon law requirements, criteria, and process in Florida.
For more information regarding your own vehicle, be sure to contact legal counsel or your state’s consumer’s affairs office.
What is the Florida Lemon Law?
The Florida lemon law sets requirements for car manufacturers to refund or replace vehicles that have safety or quality defects that cannot be repaired.
If your vehicle qualifies, you can typically choose to either:
- Have the vehicle replaced with a new one.
- Be refunded for the purchase of the lemon.
Does lemon law apply to used cars in Florida?
No, Florida does not cover used vehicles in its lemon law.
Lemon Law Criteria in Florida
In order to qualify for Florida’s lemon law, the vehicle must meet the following criteria:
- 3 failed repairs or out-of-service for 15 days.
- Issue occurs within 24 months of purchase.
What to Do if Your Car is a Lemon in Florida
If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon car in Florida, the process will go something like this:
- Make the necessary attempts to have the issue repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty.
- Keep records and documentation of all service, communication, and estimates from the dealer, manufacturer, or other authorized agent.
- If you believe the vehicle meets the criteria of a lemon, notify the manufacturer to begin the lemon-law remedy process.
You’ll need to contact the manufacturer via certified mail, after which they will have 10 days to notify you of a repair shop to attempt a final repair.
For official information or legal advice pertaining to your specific circumstances, please contact your attorney or the Florida consumer protection agency.