Are you buying, selling, or registering a vehicle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Get a free quote.


Please Enter your ZIP Code to Get Started.

A “lemon car” describes a Maine vehicle that you purchased that has a manufacturing defect that cannot be repaired, and which has resulted in reducing the usability, safety, or value of the car. 

Under the Maine lemon law, it is the car manufacturer’s responsibility to make things right if your vehicle qualifies as a lemon. 

This page will provide you with a simple overview of the lemon law requirements, criteria, and process in Maine. 

For more information regarding your own vehicle, be sure to contact legal counsel or your state’s consumer’s affairs office. 

What is the Maine Lemon Law?

The Maine lemon law sets requirements for car manufacturers to refund or replace vehicles that have safety or quality defects that cannot be repaired. 

If your vehicle qualifies, you can typically choose to either:

  • Have the vehicle replaced with a new one. 
  • Be refunded for the purchase of the lemon. 

Lemon Law Criteria in Maine

In order to qualify for Maine’s lemon law, the vehicle must meet the following criteria:

  • 3 failed repairs, 1 failed repair for a serious issue (brakes or steering systems), or 15 business days out of service. 
  • Issue occurs within 3 years, 18,000 miles, or the warranty period, whichever comes first. 

Does lemon law apply to used cars in Maine?

Yes, as long as the vehicle is still within the timeframes outlined in the Maine lemon law, subsequent owners are still covered for used vehicles. 

What to Do if Your Car is a Lemon in Maine

If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon car in Maine, the process will go something like this:

  1. Make the necessary attempts to have the issue repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty. 
  2. Keep records and documentation of all service, communication, and estimates from the dealer, manufacturer, or other authorized agent. 
  3. If you believe the vehicle meets the criteria of a lemon, notify the manufacturer to begin the lemon-law remedy process. 

In Maine, there is a state-run arbitration program you are able to use. 

For official information or legal advice pertaining to your specific circumstances, please contact your attorney or the Maine consumer protection agency.