A “lemon car” describes a New Jersey vehicle that you purchased that has a manufacturing defect that cannot be repaired, and which has resulted in reducing the usability, safety, or value of the car.
Under the New Jersey lemon law, it is the car manufacturer’s responsibility to make things right if your vehicle qualifies as a lemon.
This page will provide you with a simple overview of the lemon law requirements, criteria, and process in New Jersey.
For more information regarding your own vehicle, be sure to contact legal counsel or your state’s consumer’s affairs office.
What is the New Jersey Lemon Law?
The New Jersey lemon law sets requirements for car manufacturers to refund or replace vehicles that have safety or quality defects that cannot be repaired.
If your vehicle qualifies, you can typically choose to either:
- Have the vehicle replaced with a new one.
- Be refunded for the purchase of the lemon.
Lemon Law Criteria in New Jersey
In order to qualify for New Jersey’s lemon law, the vehicle must meet the following criteria:
- 3 failed repairs, 1 failed repair of a serious defect, or out-of-service for 20 days.
- Issue occurs within 2 years or 24,000 miles from the purchase date.
Does lemon law apply to used cars in New Jersey?
Used cars in New Jersey may be protected under the lemon law if the meet the following criteria:
- No more than 7 model years old.
- Less than 100,000 miles.
- Purchase price of at least $3,000.
What to Do if Your Car is a Lemon in New Jersey
If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon car in New Jersey, the process will go something like this:
- Make the necessary attempts to have the issue repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty.
- Keep records and documentation of all service, communication, and estimates from the dealer, manufacturer, or other authorized agent.
- If you believe the vehicle meets the criteria of a lemon, notify the manufacturer to begin the lemon-law remedy process.
For official information or legal advice pertaining to your specific circumstances, please contact your attorney or the New Jersey consumer protection agency.