A “lemon car” describes a Oregon vehicle that you purchased that has a manufacturing defect that cannot be repaired, and which has resulted in reducing the usability, safety, or value of the car.
Under the Oregon lemon law, it is the car manufacturer’s responsibility to make things right if your vehicle qualifies as a lemon.
This page will provide you with a simple overview of the lemon law requirements, criteria, and process in Oregon.
For more information regarding your own vehicle, be sure to contact legal counsel or your state’s consumer’s affairs office.
What is the Oregon Lemon Law?
The Oregon lemon law sets requirements for car manufacturers to refund or replace vehicles that have safety or quality defects that cannot be repaired.
If your vehicle qualifies, you can typically choose to either:
- Have the vehicle replaced with a new one.
- Be refunded for the purchase of the lemon.
Lemon Law Criteria in Oregon
In order to qualify for Oregon’s lemon law, the vehicle must meet the following criteria:
- 3 failed repair attempts, 1 failed repair of a defect likely to result in death or serious injury, or out-of-service of 30 business days.
- Occurs within 2 years of 24,000 miles from the purchase.
Does lemon law apply to used cars in Oregon?
No, the lemon law does not apply to used cars in Oregon.
What to Do if Your Car is a Lemon in Oregon
If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon car in Oregon, the process will go something like this:
- Make the necessary attempts to have the issue repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty.
- Keep records and documentation of all service, communication, and estimates from the dealer, manufacturer, or other authorized agent.
- If you believe the vehicle meets the criteria of a lemon, notify the manufacturer to begin the lemon-law remedy process.
For official information or legal advice pertaining to your specific circumstances, please contact your attorney or the Oregon consumer protection agency.