A “lemon car” describes a Rhode Island vehicle that you purchased that has a manufacturing defect that cannot be repaired, and which has resulted in reducing the usability, safety, or value of the car.
Under the Rhode Island lemon law, it is the car manufacturer’s responsibility to make things right if your vehicle qualifies as a lemon.
This page will provide you with a simple overview of the lemon law requirements, criteria, and process in Rhode Island.
For more information regarding your own vehicle, be sure to contact legal counsel or your state’s consumer’s affairs office.
What is the Rhode Island Lemon Law?
The Rhode Island lemon law sets requirements for car manufacturers to refund or replace vehicles that have safety or quality defects that cannot be repaired.
If your vehicle qualifies, you can typically choose to either:
- Have the vehicle replaced with a new one.
- Be refunded for the purchase of the lemon.
Lemon Law Criteria in Rhode Island
In order to qualify for Rhode Island’s lemon law, the vehicle must meet the following criteria:
- 4 failed repairs or out-of-service for 30 days.
- Within 1 year or 15,000 miles from purchase.
Does lemon law apply to used cars in Rhode Island?
Yes, used cars may be covered if they are still under the warranty period.
What to Do if Your Car is a Lemon in Rhode Island
If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon car in Rhode Island, the process will go something like this:
- Make the necessary attempts to have the issue repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty.
- Keep records and documentation of all service, communication, and estimates from the dealer, manufacturer, or other authorized agent.
- If you believe the vehicle meets the criteria of a lemon, notify the manufacturer to begin the lemon-law remedy process.
For official information or legal advice pertaining to your specific circumstances, please contact your attorney or the Rhode Island consumer protection agency.