A “lemon car” describes a South Carolina vehicle that you purchased that has a manufacturing defect that cannot be repaired, and which has resulted in reducing the usability, safety, or value of the car.
Under the South Carolina lemon law, it is the car manufacturer’s responsibility to make things right if your vehicle qualifies as a lemon.
This page will provide you with a simple overview of the lemon law requirements, criteria, and process in South Carolina.
For more information regarding your own vehicle, be sure to contact legal counsel or your state’s consumer’s affairs office.
What is the South Carolina Lemon Law?
The South Carolina lemon law sets requirements for car manufacturers to refund or replace vehicles that have safety or quality defects that cannot be repaired.
If your vehicle qualifies, you can typically choose to either:
- Have the vehicle replaced with a new one.
- Be refunded for the purchase of the lemon.
Lemon Law Criteria in South Carolina
In order to qualify for South Carolina’s lemon law, the vehicle must meet the following criteria:
- 3 failed repairs or 30 days out of service.
- Within 1 year or 12,000 miles from the date of purchase, whichever occurs first.
Does lemon law apply to used cars in South Carolina?
No, South Carolina lemon law does not apply to used vehicles.
What to Do if Your Car is a Lemon in South Carolina
If you believe you’ve purchased a lemon car in South Carolina, the process will go something like this:
- Make the necessary attempts to have the issue repaired under the manufacturer’s warranty.
- Keep records and documentation of all service, communication, and estimates from the dealer, manufacturer, or other authorized agent.
- If you believe the vehicle meets the criteria of a lemon, notify the manufacturer to begin the lemon-law remedy process.
For official information or legal advice pertaining to your specific circumstances, please contact your attorney or the South Carolina consumer protection agency.